Best AI Voice Generators · reweighted for Free Users
Best AI Voice Generator for Free Users (2026)
Short answer: Cartesia is the best free AI voice generator in 2026: 20,000 free credits a month is about 27 minutes of speech, against roughly 10 at ElevenLabs and 7 at Fish Audio. None of the free plans allows commercial use.
Last tested 2026-10-05 · same test data as the overall Best AI Voice Generators ranking, re-weighted for this audience - see how weighting works
Why weighting is different for free users
A free user cares about how many minutes they get, whether the voices sound good enough to test with, and what happens when they want to publish. We weighted free-tier value highest and realism next, and cut the weight on editing and API, which free plans gate anyway.
Reweighted ranking
A voice API built for speed: Sonic text to speech, Ink speech to text, and managed voice agents, with the cheapest commercial license in this ranking.
- Voice Realism & Control
- 8/10
- Voice Cloning & Custom Voices×0.6
- 8/10
- Language Coverage×0.5
- 7/10
- Editing & Production Workflow×0.5
- 4/10
- API & Real-Time Use×0.4
- 10/10
- Free Tier, Price & Commercial Rights×3
- 10/10
The most complete AI voice platform: text to speech in 74 languages, instant and professional voice cloning, a Studio for long-form projects, dubbing, and an API, all drawing on one monthly credit pool.
- Voice Realism & Control
- 9/10
- Voice Cloning & Custom Voices×0.6
- 9/10
- Language Coverage×0.5
- 10/10
- Editing & Production Workflow×0.5
- 8/10
- API & Real-Time Use×0.4
- 9/10
- Free Tier, Price & Commercial Rights×3
- 7/10
A text-to-speech and voice cloning platform with a library of more than 2 million user-uploaded voices, emotion and sound tags like [whispering] and [laughing], and low per-minute pricing.
- Voice Realism & Control
- 8/10
- Voice Cloning & Custom Voices×0.6
- 9/10
- Language Coverage×0.5
- 7/10
- Editing & Production Workflow×0.5
- 6/10
- API & Real-Time Use×0.4
- 8/10
- Free Tier, Price & Commercial Rights×3
- 8/10
Two products under one name: a text-to-speech reader for listening to documents, and Speechify Studio, a voiceover and dubbing tool with voice cloning.
- Voice Realism & Control
- 7/10
- Voice Cloning & Custom Voices×0.6
- 7/10
- Language Coverage×0.5
- 6/10
- Editing & Production Workflow×0.5
- 6/10
- API & Real-Time Use×0.4
- 6/10
- Free Tier, Price & Commercial Rights×3
- 6/10
A voiceover studio for teams: 200+ voices in 30+ languages, scene-based editing, pronunciation control, Google Slides and PowerPoint plugins, and SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification.
- Voice Realism & Control
- 8/10
- Voice Cloning & Custom Voices×0.6
- 4/10
- Language Coverage×0.5
- 7/10
- Editing & Production Workflow×0.5
- 9/10
- API & Real-Time Use×0.4
- 6/10
- Free Tier, Price & Commercial Rights×3
- 5/10
A voiceover studio built around licensed voice actors, with tone, pitch, and pronunciation controls, unlimited regenerations, and SOC 2 Type 2 certification.
- Voice Realism & Control
- 8/10
- Voice Cloning & Custom Voices×0.6
- 3/10
- Language Coverage×0.5
- 3/10
- Editing & Production Workflow×0.5
- 8/10
- API & Real-Time Use×0.4
- 6/10
- Free Tier, Price & Commercial Rights×3
- 5/10
| Rank | Tool | Voice Realism & Control | Voice Cloning & Custom Voices×0.6 | Language Coverage×0.5 | Editing & Production Workflow×0.5 | API & Real-Time Use×0.4 | Free Tier, Price & Commercial Rights×3 | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1▲1 | CartesiaWinner A voice API built for speed: Sonic text to speech, Ink speech to text, and managed voice agents, with the cheapest commercial license in this ranking. | 8/10 | 8/10 | 7/10 | 4/10 | 10/10 | 10/10 | 52.3/60 |
| #2▼1 | ElevenLabs The most complete AI voice platform: text to speech in 74 languages, instant and professional voice cloning, a Studio for long-form projects, dubbing, and an API, all drawing on one monthly credit pool. | 9/10 | 9/10 | 10/10 | 8/10 | 9/10 | 7/10 | 48/60 |
| #3 | Fish Audio A text-to-speech and voice cloning platform with a library of more than 2 million user-uploaded voices, emotion and sound tags like [whispering] and [laughing], and low per-minute pricing. | 8/10 | 9/10 | 7/10 | 6/10 | 8/10 | 8/10 | 47.1/60 |
| #4▲1 | Speechify Two products under one name: a text-to-speech reader for listening to documents, and Speechify Studio, a voiceover and dubbing tool with voice cloning. | 7/10 | 7/10 | 6/10 | 6/10 | 6/10 | 6/10 | 37.6/60 |
| #5▼1 | Murf A voiceover studio for teams: 200+ voices in 30+ languages, scene-based editing, pronunciation control, Google Slides and PowerPoint plugins, and SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification. | 8/10 | 4/10 | 7/10 | 9/10 | 6/10 | 5/10 | 35.8/60 |
| #6 | WellSaid A voiceover studio built around licensed voice actors, with tone, pitch, and pronunciation controls, unlimited regenerations, and SOC 2 Type 2 certification. | 8/10 | 3/10 | 3/10 | 8/10 | 6/10 | 5/10 | 32.7/60 |
Why Cartesia wins for free users
- ▸The most free text to speech of any tool here: about 27 minutes a month, against roughly 10 at ElevenLabs and 7 at Fish Audio
- ▸Pro at $5/month includes a commercial license and instant voice cloning, the lowest price for both
- ▸Built for real-time use: Cartesia's own homepage claims top rankings for realtime models, and a reviewer measured 82ms end to end on Sonic 3.5 (we did not measure it)
Individual tool reviews
Same test data as the overall ranking, ordered and scored by the weighting above.

Cartesia
WinnerA voice API built for speed: Sonic text to speech, Ink speech to text, and managed voice agents, with the cheapest commercial license in this ranking.
Strengths
- +The most free text to speech of any tool here: about 27 minutes a month, against roughly 10 at ElevenLabs and 7 at Fish Audio
- +Pro at $5/month includes a commercial license and instant voice cloning, the lowest price for both
- +Built for real-time use: Cartesia's own homepage claims top rankings for realtime models, and a reviewer measured 82ms end to end on Sonic 3.5 (we did not measure it)
Weaknesses
- -API-first: there is no timeline editor, project workspace, or pronunciation library for assembling a long narration
- -Professional voice cloning starts at the $49 Startup plan, and Free and Pro have none
- -Language coverage is reported at 40+ by reviewers, short of ElevenLabs' 74, and we did not count the languages page
Heads up: The free plan is for testing, not publishing: the commercial use license starts at Pro. Also note that credits are characters, so a script full of break tags spends extra credits, because each break tag counts as one.
Free is $0 with 20,000 credits a month (about 27 minutes of text to speech) and 2 concurrent requests. Pro is $5/month with 100,000 credits (about 133 minutes), a commercial use license, and instant voice cloning. Startup is $49/month with 1.25 million credits (about 1,667 minutes) and 2 professional voice clone slots. Scale is $299/month with 8 million credits, 4 professional clone slots, and 15 concurrent requests. One credit equals one character, and a minute of audio takes 750-800 credits. Paid plans can enable overages at $65 per million credits on Pro (checked 5 October 2026).
Visit Cartesia →
ElevenLabs
The most complete AI voice platform: text to speech in 74 languages, instant and professional voice cloning, a Studio for long-form projects, dubbing, and an API, all drawing on one monthly credit pool.
Strengths
- +The widest language coverage we found: 74 languages listed on its pricing comparison, with the Eleven v3 model and bracketed audio tags such as [whispers] to direct delivery
- +Both cloning tiers are self-serve: instant cloning from Starter and professional cloning from Creator
- +One platform for narration, Studio projects, dubbing, sound effects, music, and an API, with Starter at $6 giving a commercial license
Weaknesses
- -Credits are a shared pool across speech, dubbing, music, and sound effects, so a month of dubbing leaves fewer credits for narration
- -The free plan has no commercial license, so anything you publish needs at least Starter
- -Reviewers report the v3 model has higher latency than the Flash models, so it is the wrong pick for live conversation
Heads up: ElevenLabs prices change often. The pricing page currently shows a launch promo for the Eleven v4 model and discounted first months on Starter and Creator, so check what the regular price is before you budget a year.
Free is $0 with 10,000 credits a month (about 10 minutes of text to speech) and no commercial license. Starter is $6/month ($5 billed annually) with 30,000 credits, a commercial license, and instant voice cloning. Creator is $22/month ($18.33 annually) with 121,000 credits (about 121 minutes) and professional voice cloning. Pro is $99/month ($82.50 annually) with 600,000 credits and 44.1 kHz PCM output through the API. Scale is $299/month with 3 seats, and Business is $990/month with 10 seats. Annual billing equals 10 months' price. Unused credits roll over for up to two months on paid plans (checked 5 October 2026).
Visit ElevenLabs →
Fish Audio
A text-to-speech and voice cloning platform with a library of more than 2 million user-uploaded voices, emotion and sound tags like [whispering] and [laughing], and low per-minute pricing.
Strengths
- +The cheapest cloning-capable paid plan for creators: Plus gives about 200 minutes for $11/month billed annually
- +Expressive control through inline tags such as [chuckle], [emphasis], [whispering], and [long pause], and cloning from about 10 to 15 seconds of audio
- +A voice library of more than 2 million voices uploaded by users, plus 30+ languages
Weaknesses
- -The free plan is small: about 7 minutes a month, 500 characters per generation, and personal use only
- -Because the library is user-uploaded, voice quality and rights vary, and Fish says only verified voices that you own can be used commercially
- -Less of a production workspace than Murf or WellSaid: no pronunciation library or Adobe and Slides integrations on the pricing page
Heads up: Check the voice you pick before you publish. Fish Audio's pricing FAQ says premium subscribers can use verified voices that they own for commercial purposes, so a community voice from the library is not automatically cleared for an ad or monetized video.
Free is $0 with 8,000 credits a month (up to 7 minutes), 500 characters per generation, and personal use only. Plus is $11/month billed annually ($15 monthly) with 250,000 credits (up to 200 minutes), 15,000 characters per generation, 10 private voice slots, and 1 professional voice slot. Pro is $75/month annually ($100 monthly) with 2 million credits (up to 1,620 minutes) and 3 team seats. Max is $749/month annually ($999 monthly) with 25 million credits and 10 seats. A minute costs roughly 600 to 625 credits, and unused minutes do not roll over (checked 5 October 2026).
Visit Fish Audio →
Speechify
Two products under one name: a text-to-speech reader for listening to documents, and Speechify Studio, a voiceover and dubbing tool with voice cloning.
Strengths
- +The best listening experience: it reads PDFs, web pages, and docs aloud at speeds up to 5x on Premium, with apps for iOS, Android, Mac, Windows, and Chrome
- +Studio Starter at $100 a year is a low yearly entry price with voice cloning and commercial rights included
- +Dubbing in about 20 languages, and the Studio plans state SOC 2 approval and that you own the output
Weaknesses
- -Reader and Studio are separate subscriptions, so the $29 reader plan does not give you voiceover credits
- -Changing pitch, speed, or emotion re-runs the AI and spends credits, so heavy editing eats the allowance
- -Studio covers about 20 languages, fewer than ElevenLabs' 74 or Murf's 30+
Heads up: Check which Speechify you are buying. Its pricing page says outright that Studio is a different subscription from the Text to Speech Reader, and reviews of one often get applied to the other.
The Reader app is free with 10 robotic-sounding voices and playback up to 1.5x, and Premium is $29/month billed monthly with 1,000+ voices, 60+ languages, and 5x speed. Studio is a separate subscription: Free gives 600 credits and no commercial rights, Starter is $100/year for 86,400 credits (about 24 hours of voiceover) with voice cloning and commercial rights, and Creator is $300/year for 345,600 credits (about 96 hours). Voiceover costs 1 credit per second and dubbing 3 credits per second (checked 5 October 2026).
Visit Speechify →
Murf
A voiceover studio for teams: 200+ voices in 30+ languages, scene-based editing, pronunciation control, Google Slides and PowerPoint plugins, and SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification.
Strengths
- +The best editing workflow in this ranking: scenes, pronunciation fixes, folders, shareable links, and PowerPoint and Google Slides plugins on Business
- +Strongest compliance listing of the Studio tools: HIPAA, GDPR, ISO 27001, and SOC 2 Type II shown on its pricing page
- +Predictable allowance: Creator's 24 hours a year is about 2 hours a month, and downloads are unlimited
Weaknesses
- -Emphasis, variability, and Say It My Way controls are Business only, so Creator gives you less direction over delivery
- -No self-serve voice cloning on the Studio plan table; professional voice cloning is listed under API Enterprise
- -The business license, a Business-plan feature, is not included on Creator, even though Creator has commercial rights
Heads up: Murf's voice generation allowance is set per year on annual plans, not per month, so heavy months can use up the year quickly. The homepage now leads with agents and the API, but the Studio plans above are still sold.
Studio Free includes 10 minutes of voice generation and 10 projects. Creator is $19/month billed annually ($228 a year) with 24 hours of voice generation per year, 100 projects, 1 editor seat, and commercial rights. Business is $66/month billed annually ($792 a year) with 96 hours a year, 500 projects, 48 hours of transcription, a business license, and the PowerPoint and Google Slides plugins. Enterprise is custom. The API is separate: a $10 free credit each month, then pay as you go at $0.01 per 1,000 characters for the Falcon model (checked 5 October 2026).
Visit Murf →
WellSaid
A voiceover studio built around licensed voice actors, with tone, pitch, and pronunciation controls, unlimited regenerations, and SOC 2 Type 2 certification.
Strengths
- +Voices made in partnership with professional voice actors, and customer data is never used to train its models
- +Unlimited generation and retakes on paid plans, with tone, pitch, and emotional controls, pronunciation customization, and caption files (SRT and VTT)
- +SOC 2 Type 2 and GDPR on every plan, and Adobe Express and Premiere Pro integrations
Weaknesses
- -Only 20 downloadable minutes a month on Starter's monthly plan, and unused minutes do not roll over
- -English voices only on individual plans: other languages and translation are Enterprise
- -No cloning on any plan listed, so you cannot create a voice of your own without talking to sales
Heads up: WellSaid counts downloaded minutes, not generated ones. You can regenerate as often as you like, but each finished clip you export draws down the plan, and a canceled plan locks you out of your projects.
Free gives 3 downloadable minutes a month and no commercial rights. Starter is $10/month billed annually ($120 a year; $19 monthly) with 240 downloadable minutes a year, 10 projects, and full commercial rights. Pro is $33/month annually ($396 a year; $49 monthly) with 2,160 minutes a year, unlimited projects, up to 48 kHz audio, and an Adobe Express integration. Business is $160 per user per month annually for up to 5 seats, with WAV and OGG export. Enterprise adds other languages, translation, SSO, and 96 kHz audio. Generation is unlimited on paid plans; only downloaded minutes are counted (checked 5 October 2026).
Visit WellSaid →Feature comparison matrix
The practical questions beyond the scored criteria: code ownership, design import, team access, and starting price.
| Feature | ElevenLabs | Cartesia | Fish Audio | Murf | Speechify | WellSaid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes (10,000 credits, about 10 min) | Yes (20,000 credits, about 27 min) | Yes (8,000 credits, about 7 min) | Yes (10 min in Studio) | Studio: 600 credits (about 10 min) | Yes (3 min a month) |
| Paid plan from | $5/mo annual ($6 monthly) | $5/mo (Pro) | $11/mo annual ($15 monthly) | $19/mo annual (Creator) | $100/year (Studio Starter) | $10/mo annual ($19 monthly) |
| Commercial use starts at | Starter | Pro | Plus (paid plans) | Creator | Studio Starter | Starter |
| Self-serve voice cloning | Yes (instant: Starter; professional: Creator) | Yes (instant: Pro; professional: Startup) | Yes (from the free plan) | No (Enterprise only) | Yes (Studio Starter) | Not listed |
| Languages | 74 | 40+ (reported) | 30+ | 30+ (Studio) | About 20 (Studio) | English (others on Enterprise) |
| Voice editor for long scripts | Yes (Studio projects) | No (API-first) | Partial (Story Studio) | Yes (scenes, plugins) | Yes (Voiceover Studio) | Yes (retakes, captions) |
| Developer API | Yes (ElevenAPI) | Yes (core product) | Yes (paid plans) | Yes ($0.01 per 1,000 characters) | Yes (separate pricing) | Yes |
| Unused usage rolls over | Yes (up to 2 months, paid) | Yes (up to 2x monthly rate) | No | Not stated | Not stated | No |
Other ways to slice this ranking
Frequently Asked Questions
How many minutes of free AI voice can I make?
Cartesia: about 27 minutes a month (20,000 credits). ElevenLabs: about 10 minutes (10,000 credits). Murf Studio: 10 minutes. Fish Audio: up to 7 minutes (8,000 credits, 500 characters per generation). Speechify Studio: 600 credits, about 10 minutes. WellSaid: 3 minutes a month.
Is there a free AI voice generator for commercial use?
None of the six allows it on the free plan. ElevenLabs needs Starter ($6), Cartesia needs Pro ($5), WellSaid needs Starter, Murf needs Creator, and Fish Audio says free-plan output is personal use only.
Which free AI voice generator has the best quality?
ElevenLabs, according to reviewers, though Cartesia and Fish Audio are close. Because the free plans are small, paste the same 200-word script into each and compare, since voice quality is a personal call.
Do free plans include voice cloning?
Fish Audio lists enhanced voice cloning on its free plan. ElevenLabs gives instant cloning from Starter, Cartesia from Pro, and Speechify Studio from its $100 Starter. Murf and WellSaid have no self-serve cloning.
About the writer
Chloe Bennett
Senior Content Researcher
Chloe focuses on the audience-specific rankings - reweighting test data for solo founders, agencies, designers, and other buyers with different priorities than the general ranking. She also leads individual tool reviews, digging into pricing structure, feature gaps, and the details that don't show up in a single overall score.
Read more →